For novice boaters wanting to learn more and needing to get there state boater education card, a two-day course is being held at Oak Harbor Yacht Club in March.

Washington state law requires recreational boaters to complete a boating safety course and carry a Washington State Boater Education Card, according to The America’s Boating Club of Deception Pass.  Registration is open for a two-day skills and certification course, offered by the local boating club, to be held at the Oak Harbor Yacht Club on Saturdays March 18 and March 25.

The cost to register is $50. For a spouse or partner sharing the course materials, it will cost an additional $30. For more information or to sign up for the course, contact Registration and payment can also be done online at .

Successful completion of the course, conducted over the two Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. will qualify individuals for the Washington State Boater Education Card which the state requires for most boaters.

Washington state law requires that you have a Boater Education Card if you fit the following criteria:

  • You operate a vessel with a 15-horsepower (or greater) motor.
  • You were born after Jan. 1, 1955.
  • You are 12 years of age or older.

Course instructor Jerry Liggett says that this is much more than just a “pass-the-test, get-your-card” course. According to Liggett, it’s the most comprehensive introductory boating course available, and will give novice boaters the skills needed to enjoy their time on the water and boat with confidence. The boating squadron also offers free on-the-water training for participants.