The 2022 version of the Pac Cup saw a large contingent of boats from the Pacific Northwest on the start line, and they didn’t disappoint.

In what proved to be an exceptionally tricky year weather-wise to race from San Francisco to Hawaii, most teams battled light winds durning the early stages and then heavier weather towards the end as remnants of Hurricane Darby showed up.

In a surprise to absolutely nobody, the fastest boat and the most accomplished crew was Roy P. Disney’s modified, canting-keel Volvo 70 Pyewacket, which made the clean sweep of first to finish, first in Division A, first place overall and fastest elapsed time.

Behind Pyewacket, though, the PNW teams showed up big time. Stu Dahlgren’s Santa Cruz 70 Westerly claimed second place in the Alaska Airlines A Division and also second place overall. Westerly also won the Bill Lee award for the fastest of the Bill Lee designed yachts.

Westerly sending it into the finish. Photo courtesy of the Pac Cup Facebook page.

Alan Lubner’s RP 55 Zvi was the second boat across the finish line followed by the Portland-based Wylie 70, Rage.

Winning the BMW of San Rafael B Division and taking home the J/125 award was Jason Andrews and Shawn Dougherty’s J/125 Hamachi. After an intense battle against top-tier competition, Hamachi also claimed third overall and the Latitude 38 Trophy for best overall performance factoring start day and weather. An incredible record for this Seattle based program, and yet another successful result for the venerable J/125.

Not to be outdone, Eric Hopper and Douglas Schenk’s Portland-based J/105 Free Bowl of Soup took home the Weems and Plath W Division trophy.

In Kolea DH1, Marc Andrea Klimaschewski and David Rogers won Divisional Honors after a hard-fought battle across the Pacific aboard the Dogpatch 26, Moonshine. (Read more about Moonshine here.)

Orcas Island’s Christina and Justin Wolfe sailed an exceptional race on their J/111 Raku, and placed second in the doublehanded Mahina DH2 Division.

Congrats to all of the 2022 Pac Cup finishers! Full results are here: